Understanding the ABCs of Medicare

Part A, Part B, Part C – learning about Medicare can feel like looking into a bowl of alphabet soup. But to help get the coverage that’s best for you, it’s important to know your choices. And that starts with understanding Medicare’s four basic parts. 

Here’s a quick and simple review of the parts of Medicare and what each covers. 

Understanding the different parts of Medicare

Part A

Covers in-patient hospital visits and skilled nursing facilities.

Part B

Is for medical coverage, which includes doctor visits, clinic services and care you receive as an outpatient.

Part C

Is another way to describe Medicare Advantage. Part C combines Parts A and B into one plan. Many plans include prescription drug coverage as well. These plans often also offer additional benefits such as dental, vision and fitness.

Part D

Covers prescription drugs — including many generic and brand-name prescription medications. Each plan creates a list of the drugs that it covers.

Medicare supplement

Insurance plans, also known as Medigap plans, help pay some of the out-of-pocket costs, such as deductibles, coinsurance and copays, not paid by Original Medicare (Parts A & B).

Once you have the Medicare ABCs down, you can learn how the parts work together so you can help get the coverage you need.

To learn more, visit MedicareEducation.com.

Sign up to get the latest news from the UnitedHealthcare Newsroom